Horror movies and brand placement.

Image

Product Placement In Movies Secret Advertising Paranormal Activity 4

Recently I’ve been watching a lot of horror movies and it’s become evident to me that product placement is very much within these intense stories. If I take the 2 big release horror films in the last year I can show you where some of these products are placed. Some are very obvious and some are not but the fact is that these brands are purposely placed

Paranormal Activity 4, (released:  19th October 2012) is a major advert for Xbox Kinect. It is featured several times throughout the film as part of the story line and not just as a background. This is the most obvious brand placement within the film. It’s not that I myself would disagree with brand placement within any film but when it becomes part of the major plot then it just seems to take away from the scene. So instead of focusing on the moment with the moving of the demon the audience ends up thinking “oh cool, I didn’t know I could do that with my Xbox Kinect”. The film is just one long advertisement but now is the time to stop criticising it. It is indeed smart of them to buy into the franchise and allow them to use their product and explain how it works within a film. That is all.

Another major brand within the film is Apple. Everything they use is apple based.  Their phones and laptops are all apple and not just place they ACTUALLY say “IPhone” instead of just phone. They are all placed conveniently to show full on camera that this is the product they use. Whether Apple bought into this or they allowed permissions for their brand to be used it is still advertising for them and they are receiving an audience for their product. Yes most in America use the Apple brand more so than we would in Ireland but instead of covering up this brand it is used openly therefore becoming part of the brand placement within in the movie.

Personally I feel that branding in horror films where the story line is a key aspect can take away from the actual fright one might receive from the build-up in the story.  If a big brand takes over a movie, like paranormal activity 4 and the Xbox Kinect there is no focus on the story and it is not enjoyable for the audience.

By Courtney

3 thoughts on “Horror movies and brand placement.

  1. As you pointed out in Paranormal Activity 4 with them using only iPhones, I have noticed that in another show, Psych, one of the main characters only uses the iPhone. However, they don’t say iPhone in the show.

    • If you read our blog post about Apple inc. product placements and how they do it, it may give you a good understanding to how they get in to these shows and movies. it sure made me understand! 🙂 ❤ c x

  2. Hey! This is kind of off topic but I need some advice from an established blog.
    Is it hard to set up your own blog? I’m not very techincal but I can figure things out pretty fast. I’m thinking about creating my own but I’m not sure where to begin. Do you have any points or suggestions? Cheers

Leave a Reply

